One of the hallmarks of INEB is its model of scientific governance, which is based on individual responsibility at all scientific and technical levels, combined with participation of all members in the decision-making processes at the appropriate level.

The organization and management structure of INEB are assured by the General Assembly, the Audit Council, the Board of Directors, the External Advisory Council and the Research Unit (including a Scientific Coordinator, the Scientific Council and the Scientific Commission). The following services support the activity: Human Resources and Administration, Finance, Quality, Service Unit for Interfaces and Macromolecules (SUIM), and the Centre of Competence in Bioimaging for Biomaterials and Regenerative Therapies. The organogram of INEB, as well as details about the structures and respective people involved are indicated below.



Board of Directors

President - Maria Cristina C. Ribeiro

Instituto Superior de Engenharia do Porto, ISEP

Secretary – Cristina Maria Santos Alves de Carvalho Barrias

Treasurer – Maria Cristina Teixeira Lopes Costa Pinto Lopes Martins


Scientific Council

All researchers holding a PhD degree in the Institute, Division or Research Group. Scientific Council members

Scientific Commission

Scientific coordinator, researchers in charge of the divisions and group leaders.



General Assembly

General Committee (Mesa da Assembleia Geral)


Universidade do Porto -UP


Centro Hospitalar Universitário de S. João, EPE

Centro Hospitalar Universitário do Porto, EPE

Member Institutions

Universidade do Porto *

Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto 

Hospital Geral de Santo António *

Hospital de São João *

Centro Hospitalar de Vila Nova de Gaia *

Instituto Português de Oncologia (IPO)

Comissão de Coordenação da Região Norte (CCRN) *

Serviço de Utilização Comum dos Hospitais (SUCH) *

Instituto Português do Sangue e da Transplantação, IP

Centro de Reabilitação Profissional de Gaia (CRPG)

A. Salgado, Lda.

ISEP - Instituto Superior de Engenharia do Porto

*Founding Members


Audit Council


Centro de Reabilitação Profissional de Gaia (CRPG)


Centro do Sangue e da Transplantação do Porto - Instituto Português de Sangue (IPS)

Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto